Question Trying to write a function that print's the console name of the currently equiped weapon

anonymoos12

Veteran
Reaction score
I'm new to BO4 Zombies GSC scripting and just want to write a basic function that prints the console name of the currently held weapon (example: pistol_topbreak_t8 - for the Welling), just to get used to how scripting works.

My function so far:

Code:
sayCurrentWeapon()
{
    weapon = self GetCurrentWeapon();
    wait .1;
    self IPrintLnBold(weapon);
}

But it just gives a UI error in game when I call that function, so not sure what to do.

Either that, or I want to be able to list all of the weapons on the map, which I believe are held in an array called: level.zombies_weapons

but again, I have no idea how to hook into an array and print each of the items in it on its own line.

Last edited:

Eaqz

Reaction score
Hi,

The error is because the "GetCurrentWeapon()" function returns an entity and not a string.

I think to get a weapon name you need to do this :

weap = self GetCurrentWeapon();
self IPrintLnBold(weap.name);

Last edited:

CF4_99

Veteran
Reaction score
I'm new to BO4 Zombies GSC scripting and just want to write a basic function that prints the console name of the currently held weapon (example: pistol_topbreak_t8 - for the Welling), just to get used to how scripting works.

My function so far:

Code:
sayCurrentWeapon()
{
    wait .1;
    self IPrintLnBold(weapon);
}

But it just gives a UI error in game when I call that function, so not sure what to do.

Either that, or I want to be able to list all of the weapons on the map, which I believe are held in an array called: level.zombies_weapons

but again, I have no idea how to hook into an array and print each of the items in it on its own line.
GetCurrentWeapon no longer returns just the weapon name, it returns the whole weapon struct. So you would need to do self GetCurrentWeapon().name

Eaqz

Reaction score